Pinky Pie

Archive for February 16th, 2017

Yes, it’s that time of the month. No not that time. That, as well as Elvis, long left the building.

The cycle I’m talking about is not menstrual, but drug-related. I took the last of my pills today. They fight cancer by cutting off the blood supply of those cancer cells. The collateral damage, also known as a side effect, is to send my neutrophils running away in droves. They are both fickle and gutless, of course I’d probably do the same if it were not my body.

I have learned, though, that a week or so later Phils will return, thinking it was all clear. We fool them, of course. After a week or so,  I start taking those pills again.

Phils, be strong! Stay with me!

One other note, which I think is pretty funny. My phone kept giving me this notification of how long  my commute is to my workplace. Apparently, I go there enough that the phone believed Mayo Health System was my employer. I went into settings and removed that so-called job location. I’m not working anywhere right now.

But for the record, it was seven minutes travel from where I live yesterday. I did have bloodwork there, but no one handed me a paycheck.

Still in good spirits. How can I be? Why not? I just do things that I like to do at home.

It was great seeing my big brother Andy, who came from Oregon last week to spend time wiht his baby sister. I heard some stories that I had not heard before and some explanation of events from his youth. Naturally I recorded them. I don’t think his grandkids need to hear them yet. But I’ve got ’em for his kids and mine.

Healthy visitors always welcome.

 

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

February 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Blog Stats

  • 136,808 hits