Pinky Pie

White cells Update & Me

Posted on: December 21, 2016

Bloodwork today did not have the increase we hoped for, but my oncologist does not want to quarantine me in the house. I should be careful, but not so careful that my grandkids (and their parents) can’t come.

If you have a fever, are throwing up, or have diarrhea, please stay away. But if you are sneezing and coughing, less so. Good hand washing is the ideal for all of us. If I have to bathe in Purel, so be it.

Let the festivities begin.

As far as my white cells not jumping back, it is not unusual with the drug I take. So I will be off it for another week and then the dose may be reduced when I begin it again if my counts are not higher. It is very common with this drug. Most patients have to reduce the amount they take. In the meantime, I will still take the other anti-cancer drug.

So be of good cheer – I am. I’m taking it as a sign that the drug, ibrance, is doing its job killing of the cancer cells. The healthy cells killed along with the bad are collateral damage. My oncologist agrees.

Thanks to all for your support. It really means a lot.

A wise woman once said, “let the festivities begin.” For sure. Let’s do it.

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to "White cells Update & Me"

Sue, I’m off to be with my family for Christmas. I just wanted to wish you the best possible holiday season. I’m rooting for you every day! Love, Dhyan

Thank you so much. Merry Christmas! Enjoy your family.

Do you have snow on the ground? Of course you must – it’s Minnesota in December! Imagine every white flake falling from the sky or piled up in drifts to be a healthy white blood cell just waiting to take up residence in you! Happy Holidays, Sue!!

Keep your posts coming. And thanks for your letter in today’s Tribune supporting La Crosse SOUP.

You have absolutely amazing resilience and humour, Sue. I can’t tell you how much I admire your outlook and strength of character, and how privileged I feel to be one of the many people sending love and support. Keep those updates coming!

Thanks so much for keeping us posted. Let the festivities begin…

Laura

Glad to hear that your counts do not put you in isolated confinement. Enjoy your holidays! Ginny

Oh, Sue. I’m so glad you will be able to see your family! And yayayay about the fact that the medication is working! Good sign indeed. Yes, let the ‘stivities begin bigtime! xo

Hey, Kiddo! Glad to hear you weren’t quarantined for the holidays, when you really need time with the grandkids. Love the thought of you bathing in Purel with your Packers bra on, just for that little added touch of class.

P.S. Sorry for the late reply, but we’ve been to southern Illinois to see our grandkids & now on our way to Tucson. Will catch up with your posts in a few days.

Grandkids trump all, if you will pardon the expression.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

December 2016
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 136,255 hits
