Pinky Pie

Blanche DuBois & Me

Posted on: October 30, 2016

As she was being hauled away by the guys in white with a butterfly net, Blanche DuBois, said, “Whoever you are, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.”

I can relate to this character in Tennessee Williams’ “A Streetcar Named Desire.” Not only did he go to the same high school as my parents in St. Louis at a different time, he had a play or two that took place in St. Louis.

Like Blanche, but hopefully with a different outcome, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers – and friends and family. Through tough times, it is

The list of kindnesses is amazing, with one friend even buying Michael’s ticket home from China using saved points. I was surprised with a full-sized smoked salmon made by a friend who really smokes well.

I was instantly lifted as I was by a friend bringing me Matzo ball soup, as I took it to her when she had breast cancer a couple of years ago. (Hers is much better than mine.)

And friends have taken me out for this and that, taking care of me with their friendship. I’ve joked about going for a ride in their car as a great lift, as if they were taking their ancient mothers.

So many people have offered to take me to appointments, pray for me, swear with me or for me, and to even clean my house. On this last issue, they do not know what that would entail. I have a cat who has peed everywhere for years, as did a couple of his predecessors. And yet when I’m wrapped up in a blanket, he cuddles ever so nicely.

Many people have reached out to me who I do not know. They are friends of friends.

Yes, there are many kindnesses that I appreciate, random or otherwise, and from strangers or friends and family.

Blanche and I will do fine.

 

5 Responses to "Blanche DuBois & Me"

Yes, you will. I only wish I were close enough to help in more concrete ways. But I know that the universe and any gods we care to reach know that YOU are important to many of us, and it’s important that said universe and gods take good care of you! ❤️

I think most people crave an opportunity to be really helpful…and since you have been so generous in sharing who you are through your writing, it’s pretty easy to imagine what you might like. Like, pretty much everything done with kindness and/or humor. ❤️

You’ve absolutely nailed me, psychologista. Do I know you?

Probably not as well as I know you!

Like Karma, what goes around comes around, so enjoy the many offers to help and know that you are cherished.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

October 2016
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,504 hits
