Pinky Pie

The true price and timing of aging & Me

Posted on: April 17, 2011

I decided to stop for a bathroom break and treat on my way home Saturday  from Kenosha, where I saw Michael Feldman’s Whad’ya Know? public radio show.

Stopping in a Culver’s, I inquired whether the flavor of the day – German  chocolate – included coconut, of which I am not a fan. It did so I looked into a freezer and noticed an ice cream sandwich.

The fresh-scrubbed young man at the counter (saying fresh-scrubbed automatically put me you in the elderly category) said the custard sandwiches were $2.54, including tax. When I arrived at the counter, he rang it up with a total of $2.42.

I saw the receipt – it said senior discount 12 cemts.

Asked how old you have to be for the senior discount, he said, “any age you want.”

In other words, if you look elderly, you get the senior discount. Now that my hair is white – I didn’t re-color it after chemotherapy – I look old enough to save 12 cents. So proud.

Twelve cents is the price of aging.

Oh, there are other signs. On Friday in Kenosha, we went to a Friday fish special at 5 p.m.

It would have been 4:30 p.m., but we’re still in our 50s. That would be the time of aging.

But we are, as my husband suggests, old enough to be yelling at kids to stay off our lawn. (Actually, we don’t care.)

2 Responses to "The true price and timing of aging & Me"

I haven’t been given a discount as of yet but once I do–I will surely starting dyeing my silvery locks.

I didn’t want to add more chemicals at this stage of my life. But go for it.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 136,249 hits
