Pinky Pie

Julia Child, Quotable Women & Me

Posted on: March 15, 2011

So sayeth Julia Child: “Life itself is the proper binge.”

So, it’s not chocolate, cookies or ice cream? Now you tell me.

But it is true. The fact that we are on the planet (and not in it) is worth enjoying and appreciating.

Some years back when the husband of a friend of mine was dying of cancer or shortly after he died, this friend of mine and I talked about some of the sad and challenging things in our lives.

We could, we agreed, roll up into the fetal position and feel sorry for ourselves. Or not want to go on living.

Instead, we agreed it was far better to carry on because … “Life is too much fun.”

Nothing makes me feel more alive than a good belly laugh, one that sometimes forces me to make a mad dash to the bathroom. I am 58, after all.

Those laughs often come at my own expense – I do dumb stuff. I say dumb stuff at times. But I’m not dumb.

It’s Ok because I’m just binging on life  – as Julia Child suggested – and maybe on chocolate, cookies and ice cream.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,249 hits
