Pinky Pie

Marlon Brando & Me

Posted on: January 31, 2011

Can you identify this woman? Hint: it isn't me. Screenshot from CBS news.

Drum roll … Did I make my goal of 100 miles walked in January. Let me give you a hint:

“You don’t understand. I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I coulda been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am, let’s face it.” – Marlin Brando in On the Waterfront.

Yes, I could have been a contender in the 100 miles walked/run in January incentive, but I only managed 90.19 miles for the month. And I did that with an all-out effort the last three days of January that together came to 14 –plus miles.

While Marlin’s character blamed his brother for making him throw a fight, I cannot blame mine. It was me who decided in the third week to take off a few days believing there was no way I could reach 100 miles.

However, walking 90.19 miles in 31 days – all in the mall – ain’t shabby. I’m really not a bum.

We morning walkers are a community at the mall. We become familiar faces and share comments about the weather, our walks and families. Each of us is a faster walker than some and slower than others.

I track my miles on my iPod and I walk nook and cranny and then some. Walking back to the water fountain adds .1 of a mile for each lap. And then how close you walk to the stores and in and out of hallways, you can get more or less mileage. I can be a tad obsessive at times.

I’m a tad slower right now because I took a flyer about ten days ago. I tripped, landing on my left side. No one saw me and I was able to pick myself up, dust myself off and keep on going.

Unlike the woman at a Pennsylvania mall who fell into a fountain because she was distracted by texting while walking, I cannot blame anyone but my own klutziness. As far as I know no video was recorded of my fall or least none released to the media, as it was of that texting woman.

She, however, has sued the mall for invading her privacy – of course no one would know who it was if she hadn’t come forward. In the video she just looks like someone in dark clothing. Her face was not visible.

If Marlon Brando, played my part in the movie of my life, he would have said, “You don’t understand. I coulda had class action. I coulda been a contender in a lawsuit. I coulda been a plaintiff, instead of a klutz, which is what I am, let’s face it.”

Congratulations to daughter Maggie who did run 100 miles in January! Way to go girl. You got class, girl, and are a contender.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,238 hits
