Pinky Pie

Jerry Seinfeld, gas prices & Me

Posted on: January 27, 2011

You know I must be feeling pretty good if the only thing I could think of to write about was one-tenth of a cent.

Yes I am fed up with gas prices. I want to know why the gas I just bought is listed with that extra 9/10 of a cent – as in $3.05 9/10.

Is it so we don’t think gas prices are high? I wasn’t fooled.

That 9/10 of a cent is just silly. It might have meant something in 1900 when gas was something like 10 to 15 cents a gallon. But as we hit $3 a gallon and more how are we really saving that 1/10 of the cent that is not charged?

What does this blog post have to do with Jerry Seinfeld? He made a comedic living out of commenting on nothing. That .1 of a cent is nothing.

So in buying 11 gallons I saved 1.1 cents that supposedly was not charged to me? I’m a tad suspicious that I was actually charged $3.06 a gallon. If I buy Let’s say I buy 11 gallons a week, I would save all of $5.72 a year. That would probably buy me a 24-pack of the Diet Dr Pepper that I used to drink like water.

I’m really not complaining about the price of gas either. It’s just part of life as long as we live and breathe – gasoline fumes.

We can’t do anything about these prices except drive less, or maybe buy electric or natural gas-fueled vehicles.

Of course, we could choose where we live by the price of gasoline. We can rule out Oslo, where gas as of June 30, 2010, cost $7.41 a gallon, according to a study of the Associations of International Research that provided global gas prices data to www.DailyFinance.Com. The worst was Asmara, Eritrea, where gas was $9.59 a gallon. Berlin, Germany, and London, England came in at $6.82 and $6.60 respectively. New York on that day was listed at $2.85.

As you can imagine, oil-producing countries had very good prices – Dubai City in the Untied Arab Emirates at $1.57 and Kuwait City, Kuwait at 85 cents a gallon; and Tehran, Iran at 32 cents.

But the winner was Caracas, Venezuela, where the price per gallon was 6 cents.

Even though gasoline prices have gone up a bit since June 30, 2010, I’ll still stay where I am and pay whatever I’m charged at the pump – including that extra .1 of a cent. I can’t speak for Jerry Seinfeld.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,246 hits
