Pinky Pie

The New Susan T. Hessel Post A Day Challenge for 2011 & You & Me

Posted on: December 31, 2010

As a little girl, I remember asking my dad what those New Year’s Resolutions were all about. He explained to me that the week between Christmas and New Year’s was a time to think about my life and plan to improve it with resolutions.

Being an earnest little kid, I thought that was a very good idea.

I think it’s probably been 50 years since I’ve actually created any resolutions – give or take five or ten years. And if this post is beginning to look a lot like New Year’s Resolutions, don’t take it too seriously. I’m NOT trying to turn into a better person or anything.

But I’ve been given challenges that I’m going to work on:

  1. 100 miles in January, something that a friend of Maggie’s suggested. He or she undoubtedly meant running outside, but in Wisconsin, it will have to be walking at the mall. Five laps – nook and cranny – equal three miles or so at the mall. That would only add up to 93 miles so I’ll have to go a little bit farther each day and hope the weather is good enough that I can drive to the mall.
  2. The second is The Daily Post is from WordPress, which suggests a post a day for blog writers. That may mean needing help from others for good ideas (or even lousy ideas) for blog post topics.

If you have been following my blog for a while you know it started as a breast cancer blog, but has evolved into whatever I feel like writing.

Early on I kept throwing in cultural icons to explain what was going on with me during diagnosis and treatment (Tevya from Fiddler on the Roof, Clint Eastwood, Shirley Temple, etc.)

I created the Susan T. Hessel Breast Cancer Challenge, which involved turning any suggested cultural icon into my blog. My favorite was Madonna in her breast cone era.

Now for the new Susan T. Hessel Challenge: I’m looking for ideas for blogging so I really can post something every day in 2011.  Please suggest anything and everything – and they don’t have to together at all. That’s where the challenge and fun comes in.

Perhaps you’ll suggested toenail clippings and finishing school, or candy corns and bunions. (I don’t know why those ideas came to mind; I don’t have a foot fetish or like my toes.)

Be creative – make me creative.  I’m up for the weird and crazy, the silly and serious, the fun and hard work. Put me to the test.

And Happy New Year to all!

1 Response to "The New Susan T. Hessel Post A Day Challenge for 2011 & You & Me"

I’d like to read about your spiritual life. I’d like to read more about your ideas about the culture of breast cancer. I’d like to read about what you think about the state of newspapering. I’d like to read about your thoughts on marriage.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,796 hits
