Pinky Pie

The Queen & Me

Posted on: November 8, 2010

 

We aren’t exactly friends.

But any time I want to check in on how Queen Elizabeth II is doing (and actually a little deeper on Facebook on an unofficial page for Queen Elizabeth I), I can do so on Facebook as of today. But we aren’t Facebook friends.

Oh I was born the year she became queen – 1952 – but we haven’t kept in touch over the years.

Like any mere commoner, I can only click that I like the page of the British Monarchy and leave a comment. But I am warned to stay on my best behavior: Please note that any offensive comments will be deleted.

I can also stare at the many photos of the monarchy on the page. I have not gone very deep into the pages of photos, but I’m going to assume the photo of Prince Harry, as that mischievous adolescent wearing a Nazi uniform will not be posted in official albums.

I can also read the Court Circular & November 2010, written “by” the British Monarchy and learn:

BUCKINGHAM PALACE: The Duke of York, Colonel-in-Chief, The Royal Irish Regiment (27th (Inniskilling), 83rd and 87th and The Ulster Defence Regiment), today attended a Lunch and Families Day at Hillsborough Castle for the families of 1st and 2nd Battalions The Royal Irish Regiment currently deployed on operations, and was received by Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of County Down (Mr. David Lindsay). 
His Royal Highness, Colonel-in-Chief, The Royal Irish Regiment (27th (Inniskilling), 83rd and 87th and The Ulster Defence Regiment), afterwards attended the Service of Remembrance in St. Anne’s Cathedral and was received by Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of the City of Belfast (Dame Mary Peters).[1]

Huh? To stupidly misuse the old cliché, I say, “Ours is not to reason why; ours is just to amuse the subjects.”

Or not to amuse the subjects. And Queen Elizabeth I subjects write (with no editing from me other than putting in a hyphen between the damn and the start of the comment):

Chris FreeactivistThe Monarchy. What a blood bunch of scroungers! What exactly do you do again?

Lala FerouleI want to live in a democracy: that means having our head of state chosen by the ballot box, not the Windsor womb.

Lewis Turner –  she is the sovereign head of the Venerable Order of St John, a British Order of chivalry and member of the order of garter and she is Sovereign Head of the The Knights of Malta in Great Britain, She is also a direct blood relative of The prophet Mohammed the Islam.

Riley James Downie – Lala  … the Queen rocks! I am British/Australian and the Monarch represents a sense of stability that only a Monarch can. The British Monarchy have always been strong – they are consistent, persistent and not subject to political games and satire. You do not appreciate the stability that they bring. Democracies with an elected HOS are not all that – look at America, it’s just a popularity contest, and I am sure as much public money is spent on the US Election as is the Queen.

Becky SharmanI am a royalist and our country should be run by the monarchy. Historically the government were advisors to the monarchy and that’s the way it should have stayed! The government run the country through greed. God save the queen.

Queen Elizabeth I profile includes the following: “I have already joined myself in marriage to a husband, namely the kingdom of England.”

And Queen Elizabeth I subjects write (with no editing from me other than putting in a hyphen between the damn and the start of the comment):

Mini Vazquez – THE COURAGE OF LIFE IS OFTEN A LESS DRAMATIC SPECTACLE THAN THE COURAGE OF FINAL MOMENTS, BUT IT IS NO LESS THAN A MAGNIFICENT MIXTURE OF TRIUMPH AND TRAGEDY. PEOPLE DO WHAT THEY MUST- IN SPITE OF PERSONAL CONSEQUENCES, IN SPITE OF OBSTACLE AND DANGERS AND PRESSURES- AND THAT IS THE BASIS OF ALL HUMAN MORALITY.
HAVE A GOOD DAY!

Tatiana Bellstedt I love Elizabeth 1 !!!:))))))))

Megbowon David – Your majesty, may you live long, am megbowon babatunde from nigeria. I like to visit your majesty , u can give me a call up to the uk.thanks.

Leah Gittus Can you give me a loan please, or rent me a few rooms in your castle, i will cook you dinner

Megan Leigh Butcher – I know alot about the Tudor family of England. I hope to learn even more about them. I love reading about the entire history of them. Especially King Henry VIII and all his wives. But my favorite is Elizabeth I

Hernando Carvalho- Murcia I am reading a very good biography by Elizabeth Jenkins. I recommend it.

Brenda Lewis Tomlinson – Welcome to FB your Majesty. Love you and The Royals.

Rebecca Dillon – Queen Elizabeth the I is fine and her family but I really like Elizabeth the II because she is a great leader and she keeps up with what’s going on and takes control and hears what her people want and does her best as Queen to fullfill their dreams. Queen Elizabeth II is really great too.

Dara Michelle Buck – I choose Queen Elizabeth I over Queen Elizabeth II because I am American. Love u lots.


Queen Elizabeth I, from her Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.i?ref=ts


Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 136,246 hits
