Pinky Pie

A Day In The Life Of My Email & Me

Posted on: October 25, 2010

First let me say that turning off television so close to an election is a very good thing.

I am not some kind of extremist who has gone totally screenless. I am playing Facebook Scrabble. And, as Humphrey Bogart would say in a revised Casablanca, “We’ll always have email.” Or, “We’ll always have text messaging.” Or, “We’ll always have Facebook.”

I’m going to stick with email to illustrate how crazy mail is doing this campaign season. Here’s what I received in political email in a typical 24-hour period starting Saturday.

10:09 a.m. – Marge Baker wrote from People for the American Way, seeking support for young, progressive candidates.

10:26 a.m. – Donna Brazile (who ran Al Gores’ campaign) wrote “Susan T: Democrats are digging in and building momentum in dozens of hard-fought races.” She urged me to send money for turn-out efforts.

11:28 am. – Senator John Kerry wrote, “Dear Friend, “To all those naysayers who said we couldn’t turn this election around, I say look at the numbers. Two polls now show …” He wrote on behalf of the Senate Democratic Committee.
12: 49 p.m. – Stephanie Schriock from Emily’s List wrote “urgent help needed” for Washington Senator Patty Murray, which was in a “dead heat.” She urged me to send money to Emily’s List.

12:49 p.m. – Organizing for America wrote:  “This movement is about people like Kelsey K. Kelsey is a 63-year-old part-time teacher from Greencastle, Indiana. Last week, she made more than 200 calls to make sure Hoosiers in her community are planning on voting this fall.”

1:10 p.m. – Justin Rubin from MoveOn Political Action wrote, “You have to check out this amazing ad that MoveOn members like you made in Illinois, the closest Senate race in the country.” He urged me to send money to take on the billionaires.

3:31 p.m. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi wrote  “Dear Susan T: There has never been a more critical time to give. With just 10 days until the election, we cannot allow the progress we have worked so hard for come undone. Time is running short, and I need your support today so we can send urgent funds to these campaigns for the final week.”

3:41 p.m. – Tom Barrett, who is running for Wisconsin governor wrote me that he is an optimist. “Scott Walker says that it’s time to believe in Wisconsin again.But, unlike my opponent, I have never stopped believing in Wisconsin — in the people here, in our families, in our ingenuity, and in our resilience.” Oh, he’d like money, too.

5:08 p.m. – Jason Rosenbaum
 of the Democratic Senate Campaign Committee wrote,  asking for money for Senator Barbara Boxer, who was just two points ahead of her opponent Carly Fiorni in California.

8:34 a.m. – I heard from Organizing for America again, “This week, a conservative group led by a long-time Republican operative bought advertising in Nevada for an ad that explicitly tells Latinos to stay home from the polls this fall. The commercial told them not to vote.” (That really is outrageous.)

As it turned out so far this 24-hour period has been fairly quiet by my email standards of late: At the time I started this blog post on Sunday,  I hadn’t heard directly from Barack Obama, Bill Clinton, Former Secretary of State Madeleine K. Albright, Gloria Totten from Progressive Majority, Rick Jacobs from the Courage Campaign, James Carville for the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, Sarah from MomsRIsing.Org, Rahm Emanuel for the Congressional Democrats Committee, the Feingold Senate Committee, Senate Chuck Schumer, ActBLue, Congressman Anthony Weiner, Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro, Senator Al Franken, Wisconsin Democracy Campaign, Change.Org (which seeks to decriminalize marijuana possession), BoldProgessives.Org.

Several of those listed above wrote me after the 24-hour period ended. Still, as Garrison Keillor might say, “It’s been a quiet day in Lake Woebegon.”

Judging from my email, you can guess pretty easily where I stand politically. I think all of these emails show how hard the Democrats are now working in retail politics – seeking support from far fewer billionaires than the opposition. Democrats may have some millionaires, but most are thousandaires and sometimes I’m lucky to be a hundredaire.

The only way I could possibly support all the requests for money would be if I answered the email from one of those nice people in Africa promising me millions. As soon as I give them my bank account numbers, I’ll be on my way to riches – perhaps not a billionaire but a millionaire able to support the candidates I admire.

Thanks for writing, guys. I’m sure we’ll keep in touch after the election.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 136,808 hits
