Pinky Pie

Please join My boycott & Me

Posted on: October 21, 2010

What do we really know about this boy's past?

Yes, I’m boycotting the boycott of Campbell soups. And I’m urging others to do the same. If you like Campbell soups, buy them and enjoy them. If you don’t like them, don’t buy them.

What is this all about? This m-m-not-so-good boycott is going because Campbell’s has produced versions of a dozen of its soups for the Canadian market that meet the dietary standards of the Moslem faith (no pork or alcohol). It’s kind of like certifying some soups are Kosher for Jewish folks.

In the case of the Campbell’s soup being certified as “hallal,” there are those who want to boycott the company because it had the soups certified by the Islamic Society of North America (ISNA), which has been certifying foods since 1988.

According to bloggers urging the boycott, the ISNA is associated with terrorists. As reported on The Media Line of the Mid East News Source, The bloggers claim the “ISNA to be among 300 unindicted co-conspirators in an alleged criminal conspiracy to support Hamas that was orchestrated by the now defunct charity, the Holy Land Foundation for Relief and Development.”

The ISNA denies any connection with terrorism or the foundation.

Wrote one blogger quoted in the article,  “Why should any of us aid those who wish to subvert and sabotage us? This is not rocket science, this is civilization survival.”

Baloney. It’s prejudice and disgraceful on the part of those bloggers.

This connection between anything Moslem with terrorism is a sick version of the six degrees from Kevin Bacon game. It connects any actor through his or her film roles to Kevin Bacon in six steps. Or it’s a sick version of the seven degrees of separation game that connects any two people on the planet in seven steps.

However, a faithful Moslem would never eat bacon because the faith – like Judaism – prohibits pork products. (I happen to love bacon, however.) And secondly, the idea of connecting anything and everything to Islamic “terrorism” is mean spirited at best and dangerous at worst.

Tip of the decade: you don’t get folks to love you by hating them.

You could probably connect me to terrorism because I had lunch with two Moslem ladies a couple years ago. One year we were the host family of a young woman from Morocco who was studying English at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. Also, when I see a woman wearing head covering or burqa (outerwear that covers the entire body), I smile. I want her to feel there are some folks who are not against her because of her faith.

Of course, I’ve long had a soft spot in my heart for Campbell’s soup. Even though we were Jewish, mamma’s chicken noodle soup was Campbell’s – unless my brother or I decided we wanted Lipton’s at lunch. (What do we really know about Lipton’s other than their noodles are short and skinny?)

This photo looks a little incriminating. It was taken of Michael when he was one of the Herdman kids in "The Best Christmas Pageant Ever" at the La Crosse Community Theater. He was one of the Magi, presenting a canned ham to the baby Jesus. Incidentally, Michael started rehearsals for the play the day after his Bar Mitzvah. I love diversity.

And then there were the days when little Michael, younger than 2 at a time, took cans of Campbell’s soup from a shelf and stacked then like blocks.

Now that I think of it, what do we really know about Michael? Could he be a secret Islamic terrorist? Or worse, is he connected to Kevin Bacon?

4 Responses to "Please join My boycott & Me"

Michael is connected to Kevin Bacon as follows: You and Michael have appeared in videotapes together. You and I have appeared in home movies together. I have appeared in movies with David Strathairn. David Strathairn has appeared in movies with Kevin Bacon. So Michael is four degrees of Kevin Bacon. That has to mean he’s a terrorist.

Good post. I don’t really eat Campbell’s Soups but I’m going to start.

Thank you for that clarification, I guess. I’m looking at the lad right now. And I’m scared, very scared.

I had made the move to Progresso soups, myself, but am thinking of going back to Mamma’s chicken noodle.

Yea, a boycott! Run,run as fast as you can, bypass those red and white cans. The real terrorist is the sodium added to those noodles. I must admit there is a certain nostalgia for a lunch I remember my mom serving during my high school days.
Tomato soup with a grilled cheese sandwich.

Have your tomato and grilled cheese sandwich, although I am more partial to the Progresso tomato soups. I am, however, boycotting the boygot of Campbells on my principals of inclusion. Sorry the workshop didn’t happen.

Sue

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 136,508 hits
