Pinky Pie

I Have a Dream & Me

Posted on: September 9, 2010

It may not be your holy book, but the Koran is the holy book for many others.

No I am not putting on airs that my dream is comparable to that of Martin Luther King … or is it?

My dream last night involved waking up to discover men who appeared Moslem or Arabic in my house building something. I don’t know what – a mosque or a bomb or maybe a doll house for one of their kids? It wasn’t clear.

What was clear was that I was nervous and got out of the house quickly and the young men did not stop me or threaten me in anyway.

I didn’t call the police; instead I went shopping.

At whatever store it was – maybe Kohl’s? – I ran into my husband, who apparently was returning from out of town. I told him about these men and he was concerned, too. Neither one of us called the police.

It bothers me that in my dream I was worried just because they appeared Arabic. But looks could be misleading. At religious services last night for Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, four young men walked in with the rabbi’s son. They looked – by stereotype only – that they could have come from the Middle East. And they were – from Israel.

To those who would burn Korans and to those who block the Islamic community center in New York, I say we are better than this, folks. It is un-American to discriminate against other people in any form.

You can’t just support the 2nd Amendment – the right to bear arms – and not support freedom of religion or speech. Yes that church has the right to burn the Korans except that such a fire is not legal in Gainseville.

What does this issue and my dream have to do with Martin Luther King? Here are some words from his wonderful  “I have a dream speech.”

Some quotes from the speech, thanks to Wikipedia, are:

▪                “I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.'”

▪                “I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

▪                “I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at a table of brotherhood.”

▪                “This is our hope. This is the faith that I go back to the South with. With this faith we will be able to hew out of the mountain of despair a stone of hope. With this faith we will be able to transform the jangling discords of our nation into a beautiful symphony of brotherhood. With this faith we will be able to work together, to pray together, to struggle together, to go to jail together, to stand up for freedom together, knowing that we will be free one day.”

▪                Now is the time to lift our nation from the quicksand of racial injustice to the solid rock of brotherhood. Now is the time to make justice a reality for all of God’s children.”

So what is my dream? That we will respect each other. And that we stop judging people by the color of their skin or religious beliefs as I apparently did in my dream last night.

In the La Crosse Tribune today, a bunch of religious leaders commented on the plan to burn Korans at a Florida church, the Dove World Outreach Center. And before I go on, “dove” is a symbol for peace. This is not peace.

I do not want to stop the burning of Korans just because of fear for the safety of Americans; it is because such burnings are wrong. The pastor said only a message from God would stop the burning of the Korans.  How presumptuous.

Among the comments today in the Tribune are:

“I’ve never been able to share the Gospel with someone by offending them” – The Rev. Chad Cummings.”

“If he golden rule isn’t enough to tell you that burning someone else’s holy book is wrong, at the very least  follow the silver rule: If it makes you feel badly, don’t do it to them,” said Rabbi Saul Prombaum.

“ I have seen myself … Bibles burned in Pakistan. … Why should we be practicing their hateful ways? These Moslems are our neighbors, and there’s no way we can win them with hatred. I think they need to be won by love and better example.” –  The Rev. Patrick P. Augustine.

Hate + Hate does not equal love. It only equals more hate.

1 Response to "I Have a Dream & Me"

What if we strove to understand each other’s holy books instead of condeming them and the religion they represent?

Sue, I love the reference to Martin Luther King’s I Have a Dream speech, because when it comes down to it humanity is more alike than different. We want to have the love of our family and friends, meaningful work to help support ourselves and our familes and the opportunity to worship our God. We need to find ways of relating to others and seek common ground not look for ways to be devisive and increase hate and fear.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 135,839 hits
