Pinky Pie

Scrabble at Sea & Me

Posted on: July 23, 2010

I have never wanted to take a cruise. Until now.

How could I not when I received an email announcing:

Scrabble at Sea An intellectually challenging, fun and stimulating game.

If you are a lover of the game of Scrabble, these cruises are for you!  Scrabble tournaments for the fanatics and casual games for those who just want to have fun. Prizes and trophies awarded to those who compete and win. Don’t miss the fun and camaraderie of being with others who enjoy one of the most intellectually stimulating games ever. Remember, to participate in the activities, you must book your cruise through Enrichment Vacations, exclusive sponsor of Scrabble at Sea. If you would like to enter your club as a team, please call Jerry at 877 836-1949. We can also create a Scrabble at Sea Fund Raiser event for your club.

I have the choice of going to:

For both the “casual player” and those tournament minded, the price includes double occupancy registration fees, materials handouts, prizes for tournaments (I’m glad I won’t have to pay extra for those prizes), exclusive group activities as specified, cruise fare, port charges, taxes and government fees, prepaid gratuities, all shipboard meals except optional alternative restaurants and all onboard entertainment including Broadway style shows, comedians and shipboard activities.

So what are the prices? If you have to ask, you probably can’t afford it. Prices only are available for the Mexico tours and they range from $1257 for an interior stateroom (puh-leez) to $1852 for a balcony stateroom. I have to call for current prices on suites.

I also have to call for current prices on all those other places, which means to me that they only go up from Mexico, which these days I’m sure is eager to get tourists back to the country.

So my kids asked if I was really going to go on a Scrabble tour. No. I’m not. I told them I want to spend my travel time visiting my kids. And that is true.

I would spend all that money on a cruise and probably never notice there was even a sea out there. It would be like in the first Vacation movie with Chevy Chase when the finally arrive at the Grand Canyon after a torturous trip across country and he takes one look at goes “Uh huh. Uh huh. Let’s go.”

Being a landlubber, I’m perfectly happy with Scrabble at Land or Scrabble at Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 135,688 hits
