Pinky Pie

Life recycled & me

Posted on: July 12, 2010

Old Bonhomme Elementary School had the largest contingency at the reunion.

For years, I’ve said people get recycled in life. I get a kick out of interviewing folks again and again. It is like reconnecting with old friends.

This weekend was one big recycling – the 40th recycling of the Ladue High School class of 1970. Actually, it went beyond my classmates.

In late May, when my son, Michael, and his girl friend, Jenny, went to Atlanta to find a place to live in the fall, their new landlord looked at Michael ‘s name and asked where his parents grew up. Michael said his father grew up in Milwaukee and his mother in St. Louis.

“I went to high school with your mom,” he said.

Actually, Scott was two years ahead of me in school, graduating with my brother in 1968. I used to spend time at his home, however, because his sister, Barbara, was a friend in middle school.

Friday night, across the very crowded room, Barb and I saw each other for the first time in many years. She knew the story and was as amazed and amused as I am. On Saturday night, I reconnected with Linda, who lived across the street from me as a kid. She now lives in Atlanta and had heard the story as well. She offered to be a resource for Michael if he needs it.

But that’s not all. On Friday night, while a bunch of us sat in an outdoor café, I received a text from my daughter, wondering if I had gone to school with someone named Natalie who had graduated from my high school in 1969. It turns out she grew up in my neighborhood and is the mother of one of the groomsmen in my daughter’s wedding.

And, as we sat in a deli on Saturday, in walked a cousin of my cousin and her parents. I had reconnected with her via Facebook in the last year but hadn’t seen her for a long, long time. It was great to see her mom, who had breast cancer 27 years ago. She told me early in my treatment that she did not know it at the time but her doctor felt she would not live more than six months.

May her mother and I continue to recycle for 27 more years.

Reduce (my body could sure use it), reuse and recycle. If it works for the stuff in our lives it can work with the people of our lives.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 136,794 hits
