Pinky Pie

Great summer, Renaissance Woman & Me

Posted on: June 4, 2010


A couple of weeks ago I wrote about two offers that came within 24 hours for how to spend the summer.

The first was for Outdoor Adventures (in the post 40 or 50 set).  It’s a bunch of women alternating biking and hiking on Tuesday mornings. I was able to go the biking portion on Tuesday and let me tell you an important lesson that I learned: “You never forget how to fall off a bike.”

Yes, I did. I have had my bike out twice this summer and crashed into or fell on both days. I have bruises on left leg and on my right arm. I don’t know if that brings balance to the universe or what with injuries on both sides and on arms and legs.

It know my problem (the first step is to recognize it). I ran into the side of a narrow uneven bridge on Monday’s ride in the marsh. On Tuesday I walked my way through a narrow gate leading into the state trail in which we rode on Tuesday. But I was feeling so confident on the way back that I decided I could ride through it. Midway I felt myself panicking and went down.

So the life lesson for me is to walk my bike through narrow areas.

The second great offer was for a production of “The Madwoman of Chaillot” done via community teleconferencing, which means we are in various cities across the country and even one in Canada. I have no theater experienced unless you consider my annual shtick on compassionate death notification. New residents practice telling volunteer “loved ones” that their relative has just died. Call me nuts – many do – but I love that exercise.

Last night we had our first read partly-through. We had folks in Texas, Arizona, California, Toronto and me in Wisconsin. More actors are needed so if anyone wants to do this, let me know or check out MadamaAmbi’s Community Opera on Facebook.

This popped up when I searched for an image to go with The Madwoman of Chaillot." And who wouldn't be a madwoman in this summer of the Gulf of Mexico oil geyser?

We are playing around with different parts – rehearsal is for an hour once a week or every two weeks and no one is a professional.  Here’s the play description from a friend known on Facebook as Madama Ambi:

Description: Madwoman & Company, a small troupe of amateur actors, will rehearse the play THE MADWOMAN OF CHAILLOT by Jean Giraudoux, published in 1945. Giraudoux wrote the play while living in Nazi-occupied Paris and the play is as relevant to our world today as it was then. Audience is invited to help us develop the characters and the play. Stay tuned for more details!

What’s interesting about the play is that it is about big business determined to make a bundle of money by manipulating stock prices. Stock is sold and manipulated without even having a name for the company or a reason for its existence.

“What you need for that,” said a character known as The President, “is a name. A name that will stir the pulse like a trumpet call, set the brain awhirl like a movie star, inspire reverenced like a cathedral. United General International Consolidated! Of course, that’s been used. That’s what a corporation needs.”

And what does said company do? “The trouble is we have a tremendous capital, and not the slightest idea of what to do with it,” the President said.

What makes the play meaningful in this summer of the oil geyser in the Gulf of Mexico is that The President and The Prospector are determined to get the rights to drill baby drill right under a café in the middle of Paris.

My favorite line from The President shows less than compassion for prospective workers: “I tell you, sir, the only safeguard of order and discipline in the modern world is a standardized worker with interchangeable parts.”

Drill, baby, drill, indeed.

So summer has begun with adventure for my insides and out.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 135,839 hits
