Pinky Pie

Aesop, the Golden Egg & Me

Posted on: May 25, 2010

Take care of that golden egg.

I love a good moral as much as the next blogger. So when daughter Maggie sent me a photo of this golden egg, it got me thinking.

“Will you ask Dad if this noisemaker is his?” she wrote. “We found it and don’t know whose it was.”

Maggie. Maggie. Maggie.

This is no noisemaker. This golden egg is a music maker, a fine rhythm instrument. It’s the kind of musical instrument that even your mother could play. Or, maybe not. This mother, who shall be nameless, does have that pesky rhythm problem, after all.

Let me give you an illustration. When Michael was in middle school, there was a tradition of inviting adults to join students in playing with kids in the last concert of the year.  It was meant to be for parents or grandparents who actually knew how to play an instrument. I did not. So I signed up for the triangle. How hard could that be?

One day Michael came home with music for percussion – I was to play a drum. The suggestion was that I practice before this concert so I’d have the rhythm. Poor Michael. Teaching me to keep a beat was beyond the capabilities of anyone, let alone a son. But, if I had any questions, the teacher would help on the night of the concert.

Hah. That night,  as I tried to pound away on a drum, she took one listen to me and said, “Do what ever you want.” So I pounded away, drowned out by many others. But I had a blast. I thought I missed out on band, which might have led to a career for me as a triangular.

Back to the moral of this golden rhythm egg shaker, which we left in KC the last time we visited. Aesop and I both know you can’t tell an egg by its color, a lesson from his fable of the Goose that Laid a Golden Egg.

A man and his wife had the good fortune to possess a goose, which laid a golden egg every day. Lucky though they were, they soon began to think they were not getting rich fast enough, and, imagining the bird must be made of gold inside, they decided to kill it. Then, they thought, they could obtain the whole store of precious metal at once; however, upon cutting the goose open, they found its innards to be like that of any other goose. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Goose_That_Laid_the_Golden_Eggs#Morals

Aesop & me - just like this.

Now, Aesop and I are like this. He includes morals with his fables; I have lessons that are learned that go with the stories I write about people’s lives. Thus, the name of my personal history business is Lessons From Life. (www.lessonsfromlife.com)

So what are the morals of this fable? Wikipedia suggests:

  • Greed destroys the source of good.
  • Think before you act.
  • Those who want too much lose everything.

I’d like to add one more. Anything and everything is fodder for my blog.

1 Response to "Aesop, the Golden Egg & Me"

That’s a nice egg. I mean noisemaker. I mean music maker.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,508 hits
