Pinky Pie

Inspiration & Me

Posted on: April 18, 2010

I met – or rather re-met – a woman the other night who is 50 years out from her diagnosis of breast cancer.

Inspiring.

I ran into another woman who was stage 4 – meaning the cancer had spread into her body beyond the lymph nodes – when diagnosed 35 years ago.

Inspiring.

I called an aunt of mine – the last living sibling of either of my parents – who told me, “Oh yeah, I had that 30 or 40 years ago.”

Inspiring.

I know someone from my childhood for whom it has been more than 20 years since her breast cancer was identified. At the time no one thought she would live more than six months.

Inspiring.

I have friends who are 15 and 18 years from diagnosis and others who were diagnosed in the last 5 or 10 years.

Inspiring.

These are the faces – plus many more – who inspire me and keep me from worrying or thinking too much about whether the cancer will come back. It may or may not.

I’m hoping for the not. And despite not having the earliest diagnosis, there is every reason to keep on keeping on.

A lot of women before me have done just that.

2 Responses to "Inspiration & Me"

I’m hoping for the not, too.
xoxox

I look forward to the days when you’re 30 years cancer free and you can be an inspiration to others like these women have been for you!

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 137,018 hits
