Pinky Pie

Big Bird & Me

Posted on: February 25, 2010

Shortly after I started this blog and found myself throwing in cultural icons into my various posts, I created the Susan T. Hessel Breast Cancer Challenge. The idea was that readers suggest icons that I am supposed to find a way to include in the breast cancer blog.

My daughter, Maggie, suggested Big Bird. It takes one to know one. Several times, she was Big Bird for Halloween and for years her career aspiration was to be Big Bird. Her career choice changed after a time, perhaps because it was clear she would never grow to be 8 foot 2 like Big Bird.

Maggie changed her mind on other matters, such as her decision as a young girl that her wedding reception would be held at Taco John’s, her favorite restaurant.

Life is about change and Big Bird knows it. Sometimes, in fact, the wisest advice comes from at bird – and we’re not talking owl. I found this quote attributed to Big Bird:

“Bad days happens to everyone, but when one happens to you, just keep doing your best and never let a bad day make you feel bad about yourself.”

That’s one smart cookie – or maybe that would be more appropriate for Cookie Monster.

But it’s true. There are good days and bad days, whether you have breast cancer or not. I’m going through more good than bad these days;  far more good.

One of the books that Maggie and I loved when she was a little girl was The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown. It’s the story of the bunny who announced he wanted to run away and the mother who told the bunny she would always be there for that child no matter what happened.

This timeless book, first published in 1942, included such lines as:

Once there was a little bunny who wanted to run away.
So he said to his mother, “I am running away.”
“If you run away,” said his mother, “I will run after you.
For you are my little bunny.”

“If you run after me,” said the little bunny,
“I will become a fish in a trout stream

and I will swim away from you.”

“If you become a fish in a trout stream,” said his mother,
“I will become a fisherman and I will fish for you.”

In the end – plot spoiler alert – the little bunny realizes he can’t escape from dear old, relentless Mom.

“Shucks,” said the bunny, “I might just as well
stay where I am and be your little bunny.”

And so he did.
“Have a carrot,” said the mother bunny.

What’s nice about about my little bunny(ies) is that they may live hundreds or even thousands of miles away, but shucks they are still my little bunnies in spirit if not proximity.

4 Responses to "Big Bird & Me"

I promise to always be your little bunny….

For the record, I am only 468 miles away…

Would that be between your new home and ours or between your old place and ours?

[…] Big Bird & Me « Pinky Pie […]

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 135,839 hits
