Pinky Pie

Short takes & Me

Posted on: January 27, 2010

As I was driving home from the mall – 3.25 miles walked – I thought of the license plate of the first radiation oncologist at Gundersen Lutheran, the other medical center in La Crosse..

It said: I RADE8.

Maybe I loved that vanity plate so much because I could figure it out and I’m not great at figuring out the vanity plate words that I loved this one so much. Also, I had interviewed this good many several times and knew him to have a wonderful heart.

On the day that I start radiation, I can say that I still love it.

I wonder if I could get a Wisconsin plate that says, RadE8 Me.

My appointment is at 4:45 p.m. and I hope to write about it tonight or tomorrow.

****

I must confess that I am a bragard – but if it is done in the pursuit of Scrabble, is that OK?

I had a play on Facebook Scrabble Monday that was 113 points. It was the word, hazings, which also earned me 50 bonus points called a Bingo or in my family, “a laydown.”

****

Followers of woes of my infected toe – the fourth digit on the right foot – will be happy to know that I think I have found a solution.

Or the solution found me.

To recap, throughout chemotherapy and beyond, I’ve had incredible itch in my toe, which I tried not to scratch, but the itch was so intense that I ultimately scratch it. That leads to the bacteria infection, which improves with antibiotics.

But the podiatrist who I saw yesterday – a great guy – said he sees my toes a lot in chemotherapy patients. The problem is an underlying fungal infection. So I needed both the antibiotics and anti-fungal medications – oral and a cream for the toe.

Too much information again? Be happy I have not posted a picture of my toe. It ain’t pretty.

1 Response to "Short takes & Me"

Congrats on the 113 point laydown. You beat my 111.

I am not worthy.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 136,255 hits
