Pinky Pie

Medicine: old and new & Me

Posted on: January 1, 2010

Minding my 'P's and knees.

Medicine has come a long, long way, something for which anyone who has a serious condition is grateful.

The CT, MRI and PET scans can finely diagnose a disease, helping to lead to more successful treatments. Chemotherapy, radiation therapy and surgery are great weapons in the war against cancer.

Heck, I’ve even had the benefit of ancient Chinese medicine – acupuncture. This therapy, thanks to accupuncturist Sister Eileen, has helped reduce fatigue and eliminate pain.

It even answered an important question of my life.  “What is that word, qi, that has become acceptable in Scrabble as the only two-letter Q word?”

Qi is what Sister Eileen releases in acupuncture on cancer patients at Franciscan Skemp. According to Dictionary.com, qi is the vital force essential for good health in traditional Chinese medicine.

Yes, medicine has both advanced and embraced elements of traditional Eastern treatment.

It is time to give credit to a medical device that has not received the acknowledgement it deserves. I’m talking about the bag(s) of frozen peas. As I write this, I have one bag under my knees and another bag on my knees.

Yes, just when I thought the chemotherapy drug, Taxol, might not cause the knee pain that it has in my previous chemotherapy session, it decided to show me up.

What Taxol does not realize  is that I have a secret weapon in my bags of peas. I learned the value of the peas after my second of four Taxol treatments when I made the terrible mistake of putting heat on my knees (it was really dumb but I was thinking old injury from dislocated kneecaps as a kid).

Desperate, because it really hurt like hell, I asked my husband to pick up the frozen peas. Families, in which kids have frequent injuries, have long been aware of the medicinal value of frozen peas. I was slower to learn this because our kids were not injury prone (except for Maggie’s dislocated kneecap in France on a school trip, but that is another story).

Bags of peas are especially helpful because those little peas are malleable in molding to my knees.

This being my last chemotherapy treatment, I probably won’t need these peas in the future for knee duty. But since these important medical devices went in and out of the freezer as needed, we won’t be noshing on these peas.

They deserve a break. These peas have done a heck of a job minding my knees.

4 Responses to "Medicine: old and new & Me"

When you’re done with them, saute a little onion, heat the peas in a little chicken stock, grate some ginger and a little lemon zest and then mix everything in a blender. Rewarm as necessary. Not only will you have a delicious ginger pea soup, you’ll also be able to claim to have contributed to whirled peas. 😉

I love it!

Sounds good! Appeals to my frugale side. What the heck? As long as the bag didn’t break!

And apparently, I;m not so frugal that I can spell it correctly!

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 135,792 hits
