Pinky Pie

Dudley Moore, Ten & Me

Posted on: December 9, 2009

In the 1979 movie, Ten, Dudley Moore plays the role of a 42-year-old songwriter George Webber, who is in the midst of a mid-life crisis.

He begins looking around and rating women from 1 to 10, eventually becoming assessed with a character played by Bo Derek, who he rated an 11.

I’m not sure if I actually saw the movie, “Ten,” or just read about it. I might have been too young in 1979 to consider having a midlife crisis so I may not have appealed to me.

I’m not in a midlife crisis now, nor would Dudley Moore ever have been consider me an 11, or 10, or 9, or … Let’s not go any farther there. I also don’t compare myself to Bo Derek, although I don’t know what she looks like now.

But I have been thinking about rating systems. We constantly having to fill out forms, fro, 1 to 5 or 1 to 10 – and they are so subjective.  Obviously. That’s the point.

The scale that gives me the most thought is the 1 to 10 scale for pain. Mostly, I don’t have pain except an occasional headache or stomachache.

But Monday and Tuesday I did. How do you rate it?  I don’t want to seem like a wimp and say it’s a 9 or 10. And if 10 is the worst, what happens if something worser happens later? (I know worser is not a word; and don’t want anything to be worser or the worst.)

Also, if I say my pain is a 9, will everyone think I’m the girl who cried screamed wolf? On the other hand, if I say 5 or 6, will my pain be taken seriously? Or, would I be someone considered courageous?

So what is this pain? Three days after Taxol – and I thought it was my friend – I got severe pain in my knees – again. I mean severe enough that it reminds me of my knee dislocations long ago and delivering babies.

A friend called my knees my “Achilles’ Heel.” I thought Achilles’ Knees” was more accurate. Taxol, which does attack the joints, picked my knees because they are easy marks. I have arthritis in my knees from those multiple knee dislocations.

The pain was so severe Monday evening that I used icy hot patches and took a pain pill that my doctor recommended. That didn’t do it. I used a heating pad and that did it – but not in the way that I wanted. Heat was the wrong way to go – I ended up barely able to walk.

In the middle of the night, I read the prescription bottle, which said I could take one or two pain pills every six hours. Six hours passed so I decided to take two. I did get up and make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich to eat with it so I wouldn’t get sick by taking the pills on an empty stomach.

By the next morning, I was really sick. I even returned the peanut and jelly sandwich that I apparently only rented.

And that made Tuesday a pretty lost day. With a snowstorm coming, Dick went to get a few items from the store, including two big bags of frozen peas to use and reuse to ice my knees. That helped.

By the afternoon, my knees were doing better and thankfully acupuncture was on and not cancelled despite the coming storm.

I can report no pain today.  So was it the tincture of time, pain pills (I’ll stick to Tylenol for now on) and/or acupuncture? I don’t know, but it is wonderful the pain is gone.

I am going with a 9 for the pain Monday night, but maybe 5 or 6 by the time I got to acupuncture. Saying it’s a nine, feels a little bit like I’m a whiner and complainer.

I have two more of these Taxol treatments, and let me assure you I’m ready to be done with them. It’s different than the Adriamycin and Cytoxan, but still not any fun.

So, here’s a scale for you: on a scale of one to ten how much of a whiner and complainer and I? Perhaps Dudley Moore would give me an 11.

2 Responses to "Dudley Moore, Ten & Me"

I’m so glad you have no pain today. You are a trooper. I’m going to send this post to a friend who works(ed?) in a clinic that researches pain.

And just so you know… From now on, whenever I think of “This is Spinal Tap”, I shall think of you and Dudley Moore:)

“Well, it’s one louder, isn’t it?”

so sorry about having this bad pain day, are you better and is there anything you need? Diane

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,796 hits
