Pinky Pie

Walking Ms. Susie, Shirley Jones & me

Posted on: November 16, 2009

driving miss daisy

carousel_poster
Carousel movie poster

If you ever wonder about the good in people, get breast cancer. Wait, don’t do that. Please don’t do that.

Instead look around you at the absolute goodness of others. My friend, Maureen, created and organized a list of folks who bring us meals after my surgery and during chemotherapy. Other friends cleaned my house before my brother came (hint: it’s dirty again).

Now, I have a sense that I’m being walked.

After Tuesday, when I had my walking debacle, which required rescuing by high school sons of my friend, Mary Ellen, there’s been a great interest in making sure that I do not walk alone.

Hence: Walking Ms. Susie.

Walking Ms. Susie (my apologies to Driving Miss Daisy) is designed to keep me from doing something stupid again. Several people had suggested I not go by myself before this debacle and offered to accompany me. But I had this determination to fight on.

I have been amply chewed out and have learned my lesson, by the way.

Mary Ellen, herself, called to say that she was off today and could walk with me. Other friends and my husband have also walked me, turning me back to make sure I don’t go too far and fast.

The bonus, of course, is I have company and a keeper. Dick called anyone going with me my “walk monitor.”

OK, I need and appreciate my monitors. And my walk doesn’t take long, maybe half an hour if anyone is interested.

In the meantime, this Walking Ms. Susie concept reminded me of this song from the 1950s musical, Carousel. A cousin sang “You’ll never walk alone” to actress Shirley Jones (who played Julie Jones) who was going through a tough time.

It doesn’t fit completely, but here are the lyrics, which are lot more dramatic in the musical/movie than in my life. Think a soprano singing in 1950s musical style:

When you walk through a storm

Keep your chin up high

And don’t be afraid of the dark.

At he end of the storm

Is a golden sky

And the sweet silver song of a lark.

Walk on through the wind,

Walk on through the rain,

Tho’ your dreams be tossed and blown.

Walk on, walk on

With hope in your heart

And you’ll never walk alone,

You’ll never walk alone.

P.S. Can we negotiate this “never walk alone” thing to maybe not until I’m done with chemotherapy? I need to get out in the winter and that probably will require going to the mall. Only if i don’t get going really early, I’m not sure I’ll have anyone to walk with there. Is that OK? And I want to walk before there are crowds.

1 Response to "Walking Ms. Susie, Shirley Jones & me"

How can I resist commenting? We are happy to walk with you a little or a lot. Also, I love Carousel and I always wanted to play the part of Julie Jordon in high school production…her songs were even in my range.

However, this musical became politically incorrect because not only does Billy Bigelow hit his wife Julie, but comes back after his death to make things right on earth with his 15 year old daughter and gets frustrated and slaps her. Which results in this conversation with her mother. “Honest, there was a strange man here, and he hit me hard. Is it possible for someone to hit you hard like that – real loud and hard, and it not hurt you at all?” To which Julie says yes. Hmm…I can see why high schools gave up this show. However, there are some wonderful messages (and music throughout).

Now to align this with your breast cancer fight. Yes, you will someday be able to walk alone, Sue. And I know you are poking fun at the song, but it does talk about hope and faith and believing in the good after the storm…and I believe that is coming to you.

Feel free to call this “walk monitor”!

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 136,589 hits
