Pinky Pie

My ego & me

Posted on: October 20, 2009

My bald person photo shoot was today and it was an absolute blast. I can’t wait to see the photos.

This shoot represented my sense of humor manifested in a bunch of crazy bald headed scenarios that I’m calling Balditude or Unhair-brained Ideas. Stay tuned to learn more about them.

This day was possible because my friend, Jen Towner, is a wonderful, creative photographer who was willing to do this for me.  (Message: Hire her. If you want her contact information let me know. She does weddings and other events and is very creative.)

Jen and I met through the School District of La Crosse but really got to know each other in Photoshop classes. Our senses of humor really matched.

The idea for this photo shoot came in the middle of the night when I tend to wake up thinking about things. It’s funny because I don’t wake up worrying about cancer or the outcome of all this treatment. (I really am nuts.) Instead I come up with ideas for this blog or other projects. One of my early ideas was finding pink clown noses that I gave out to other people to remind them to laugh around me and not be so serious.

Then I had this idea of when my hair fell out, that Jen would take different photos of me as famous bald people. I woke up in the middle of the night thinking about different bald people in history and in the entertainment industry and how I might illustrate them with photos of me. Believe me, I’ve had many sleepless nights thinking about this project.

I was thinking I would be Yule Brynner in a photo taken by the Ten Commandments markers that we have in a park in La Crosse. Excuse me. A piece of land within the city park was sold to a private person after a lawsuit to pretend the markers are not on public land. The Ten Commandments a surrounded by two fences – one within each other – and have a sign proclaiming this is private land despite being in the middle of a city park. To me, it looks pretty silly. But hey, that’s just me.

The problem with that photo is that I didn’t have the right clothing to look like Pharaoh in the Ten Commandments movie, Brynner’s role. And, if you think about it, what sweet Jewish girl should be impersonating the guy who made slaves of her people many moons ago. I wish it were a principle thing; however. It was, as I said a matter of clothing.

I also had the idea that I could be “G.I. Sue” like Demi Moore in the movie, “G.I. Jane.” In the middle of the night I had this idea that I could get an Army uniform shirt from my nephew, who is serving in Afghanistan. I thought it would be cool to have a uniform shirt that had Hessel on it.  However, in the movie Demi was in the Navy Seals and mostly wore exercise clothing. And there was no such shirt in Portland, Oregon. The Army may not have liked that kind of use of its uniform, either.

By the way, thanks, Evan, for being such a good guy.  Be safe and a little less courageous. Please.

Again, that idea of G.I. Sue was thrown out as a matter of costume, not principle.

In the meantime, I had a brainstorm that I should be in enough photos to make a calendar that would raise money for breast cancer screenings. Instead of the naked ladies calendars that have been so successful, it would be the naked head calendar.

So I came up with a whole different list of photo shots – ones that reflect the months of the year. For 2010, this calendar would be my shiny head on display but I hope that in future years other women going through chemo would be featured. My head would be a prototype.

I’m not going to say what these photos are this year – watch this space – but just let me say that they don’t border on the absurd. They inhabit the absurd.

Despite the altruism, it dawned on me that this calendar is pretty egocentric of me – it is all about me. Me. Me. Me.

I’m proud of being an exhibitionist at a time when I could be hiding because of a lack of hair.

I’ve sensed some folks are uncomfortable seeing someone who obviously has hair loss from chemotherapy. I’ve made a decided effort to not look down, but to smile at people and have eye contact. It makes them – and me – feel better.

It’s OK, folks. This hair loss thing is not permanent. I’m embracing it as a stage of my life.

3 Responses to "My ego & me"

oy veys mir…you spelled the most famous baldheaded person’s name as if he were a Yule Log!…that’s OY with a guttural gruntchortle…

Yah, but I just played yule on a triple word on Facebook Scrabble thanks to the hint of your reply. Spelling? Grammar? Details. Details.

We enjoyed this post and would love you to post at Famousbaldpeople.com some day. If you have any suggestions on famous women that should make our list feel free to let us no as we are still in development. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 136,504 hits
