Pinky Pie

Paul Simon & Me

Posted on: October 5, 2009

Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel in their Feelin' Groovy daysMove over, Godfather of Soul, today Paul Simon and I are buds, not to mention Joe Cocker, Nina Simone (and company), the Black-Eye Peas, and Morris Alberts. And then there’s Maria.

James Brown and his song, I Feel Good, helped me yesterday to decide whether I was feeling good or well, a grammatical issue of importance only in my head yesterday. I went with feeling good as the grammatical way I learned to describe my state of being versus well, meaning the way I touch things.

But clearly, I have far more choices than good or well, which dawned on me on my morning walk as I sang a line or two (or half a line from)  Paul Simon’s Feeling Groovy, actually titled the Fifty Ninth Street Bridge Song:

Hello lampost
Whatcha knowin?
I’ve come to watch your flowers growin’
Ain’tcha got no rhymes for me?
Doo Bee Doo Doo,
Feelin’ groovy____________

Got no deeds to do
No promises to keep
I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep
Let the morningtime drop all its petals on me…
Life, I love you,
All is groovy____________________

And then there’s ‘60s rocker Joe Cocker singing Feel Alright:

Seems I’ve got to have a change of scene
Cause everynight I have the strangest dreams
Inprisoned by the way it could have been
Legt here on my own or so it seems
I’ve got to leave before I start to scream
Someone locked the door and turned the key
Feeling alright
Im not feeling good myself
Feeling alright
I don’t have to feel alright
I’m feeling good myself

Anthony Newley and Leslie Bricusse wrote I’m Feeling Good, for the 1965 musical The Roar of the Greasepaint—the Smell of the Crowd. It since has been covered by many, including Nina Simone, Sammy Davis Jr., Eels, Michael Bublé, The Pussycat Dolls, My Brightest Diamond, George Michael, Joe Bonamassa, John Barrowman, Adam Lambert, John Coltrane, NoureddineAzhar, Muse, Calle Stuborn, Aṣa, and David Hasselhoff:

Stars when you shine
You know how I feel
Scent of the pine
You know how I feel
Oh freedom is mine
And I know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me

And I’m feeling good
I’m feeling good
I feel so good

The Black Eyed Peas recorded, “I gotta Feeling:

I gotta feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good, good night

I’m going to pass on the Jay-Z “Feelin It’ rap. I don’t mean to be culturally insensitive, but it’s just not quite what I’m feeling.

And speaking of Feelings, here’s the Morris Alberts song, with my hope that just reading some of the words won’t be too much for you or me:

Feelings, nothing more than feelings,
trying to forget my feelings of love.
Teardrops rolling down on my face,
trying to forget my feelings of love.

Feelings, for all my life I’ll feel it.
I wish I’ve never met you, girl; you’ll never come again.

Feelings, wo-o-o feelings,
wo-o-o, feel you again in my arms.

And with my hair ready to fall out this week if it is on schedule, I just want to add one more song From West Side Story 🙂

I feel pretty,
Oh, so pretty,
I feel pretty and witty and bright!
And I pity
Any girl who isn’t me tonight.


What’s your song? What should be mine?

3 Responses to "Paul Simon & Me"

Did you just reference the Black Eyed Peas? AND Jay Z?
I’m impressed!

Oh, yeah. I am impressive if I must say so myself.

You never cease to amaze……or impress. As for me, I’m feelin’ groovy.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 135,336 hits
