Pinky Pie

Amy Winehouse & Me

Posted on: September 25, 2009

Amy Winehouse

Amy Winehouse

Amy Winehouse & me

Whew!

I bet you didn’t see that one coming.  After all the cultural icons I’ve thrown in this blog, I’m guessing you didn’t think Amy Winehouse  would be next. My daughter was surprised I knew of her.

I don’t relate too much to the troubles of this singer songwriter, but an Amy Winehouse’s song was in my head the night before I went to my first chemotherapy session. You may know the song, “They tried to make me go to rehab, I said, no, no, no.”

As powerful as Amy Winehouse’s voice is and as talented as she is, she is one troubled woman with alcohol, drug and other self-destructive behavior, including arrests for a variety of charges. That was the reason she needed rehab. But she wasn’t much interested for a long time despite the urging of family and friends, although she did ultimately get treatment.

Growing up, my mother sang constantly around the house, mostly stuff from her childhood and young adulthood. I loved those songs, and have retained maybe two or three lines from the big band and pop songs that Mom sang in my head.

As it turned out, Amy’s father also sang constantly around her house. She picked up those Frank Sinatra tunes from her father and sang so much that her teachers found it hard to keep her quiet in class.

I was told to mouth the words when the class sang in Kindergarten, but that had more to do with my never being able to hit a note or hang on to a single key in my key chain, let alone in a song.

Often I turn over songs my mom sang or more current tunes in my mind to reflect whatever is going on in my life. The emotion in the Amy Winehouse song is very powerful and stuck in my brain.

But in my case, the words are, not “Tried to make my go to rehab, I said no, no. no.”

My words are “They tried make me go to chemo, I said yes, yes yes,”

I don’t want to go to chemo, but I know I have to. I’ve not been at the top of my game the last couple days since I had my first session, but I know it has to be done. I also know that feeling crummy or exhausted is not a character flaw. And those feelings will pass. One chemo session down, and seven to go. I’m making progress with wonderful caregivers, friends and family at my side.

I say, yes, yes yes.

I hope Amy Winehouse has gotten the help she needs.

7 Responses to "Amy Winehouse & Me"

I’m glad you are more open to “rehab” than Amy. However, since you are comparing the two of you, maybe now is the time to get a tatoo…what do you think Pinky? What would it be and why?

yes, a tatoo would be aweome!

O K I have to weigh in on the tatoo. I say NO. You will have plenty of reminders of this experience that are permanent.

I’m sorry you have been feeling cruddy. I think of you everyday, hang in there!

Don’t worry. No tattoo for me.

[…] I can only imagine what folks who Google Amy Winehouse thinks when they land on my breast cancer blog site at https://shessel.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/amy-winehouse-me/ […]

u know the only thing i heard about u was negative to day i watch a concert from london im amazed people would down grade u with a very special talent u have ur special and blessed realize it f everyone that are not blessed

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 136,796 hits
