Pinky Pie

Kermit the Frog, WordPress & Me

Posted on: September 24, 2009

Can you see my blog on the WordPress home page?

Can you see my blog on the WordPress home page?

Lying in the same day surgery area waiting to be taken to surgery to get my port implanted for administering chemotherapy, drawing blood, etc., I was fiddling with my Blackberry. Yes, I’m that addicted to the idea of getting email at my fingertips no matter where I was. Besides, the surgery was running a bit late.

I had already written for the day – pre-scheduled a piece that I called, the Cowardly Lion & Me. It was all about my fear of chemotherapy – mainly nausea and related body function. You may fill in the blank for whatever term you use for that body function.

Anyway, I received an email from the editor of WordPress, by blog site, that said, Congrats! Your post ( https://shessel.wordpress.com/2009/09/23/the-cowardly-lion-me/ ) has just been promoted to the homepage of WordPress.com. Keep up the good work! Thanks a million,

The WordPress.com Team”

Wow! To say the least. I’ve had about 500 more visits yesterday than usual.

Well, all went well with getting the port and my first dose of chemotherapy. My nurse was thrilled to get one of my little pink noses and to wear it out to show off to the other team members. I think they will be fighting over who gets me next time.

What I really liked is they told me that “getting sick one time is one time too many.” I was to call the oncologist on call if that happens and my medications would be changed.

I did. I threw up last night and the oncologist changed my anti-nausea drug to the generic version of Zofram, or what I call zofriend.

Now all this might have been triggered by my taking a pain pill without food in my stomach. But it was quite a day yesterday so I might have gotten sick any way.

My good friend and nurse midwife happened to call last night when I started sweating and felt nauseated. She came over and helped me with breathing and put cold wash clothes on my head and neck. Those Lamaze breathing exercises did not result in a baby – other than the one had 29 years ago that day.

Yes, that helped but still what went down earlier came back up and I called the oncologist, who called in the new prescription.

I really wanted to handle chemo as well as I recovered from the surgery. Within a week I was walking three miles a day and decided that I wanted to walk more than three miles each day so I could “beat 3,” my cancer stage.

This morning when my husband came down stairs and found me on the couch, he asked me how I was. I said, “Well, I didn’t finish my three mile walk. Do you want to know how short I was?”

“Three miles?” he asked.

“That would be it.”

It is my hope to get out and walk tree times around the block later today or tomorrow.

I must say chemotherapy is not all it’s cracked up to me. And, its not cracked up to be much. As my buddy, Kermit the Frog, would sing, “It’s not easy being green.”

Oh, he has other wisdom as well that I’ve stolen from sites listening Kermit quotes:

The Parliament reference is appropriate as I have been watching “Upstairs Downstairs” DVDs, the old BBC program on public television in the 1970s. The “master of the house” was a member of Parliament. I always thought the downstairs folks were a lot more interesting anyway.

6 Responses to "Kermit the Frog, WordPress & Me"

oh Pinky, you yourself are an inspiration, a true blender of the tragic, the comic and the absurd with a pop culture cherry on top…gotta say, I’m disappointed chemo still makes people sick…you’d think they’d have figured out how NOT to do that by now…

I totally relate to falling WOEfully behind on simple daily goals like walking 3 miles!!! Like I said, I tried that ONCE. Did I mention that I’ve been dealing with chronic pain since…um…my whole life? Well, no matter, but I have developed many, many strategies for making good use of my BAD days, which by now probably outnumber my GOOD days.

I have activities mapped out for every level of energy between GO! and FULL STOP! Sometimes I just lie down and imagine all the great works of art I will never get to…but it’s deeply healing & satisfying to me to be able to do them in my head. Sometimes I listen to audiobooks, sometimes I read, sometimes I work at the computer, sometimes I listen to music, sometimes I swim…

You are a newbie at this cancer thing and it may take you a while to sort out what works for you and what doesn’t. I’m glad you have many caring people around you.

and may your holidays always be high…

THank you. I’m sorry for your chronic pain but love the idea of plans for the good days and bad days.

I’ve been in touch with the cancer center and they are providing great support. I’ve also been encouraged to nibble throughout the day so my stomach is not totally empty.

I love the reference to my blend of tragic, coimic and absurd with a pop culture cherry on top.

I agree, may all our holidays be high …

Great blog. Sorry you are going through this. Very similar to what my wife experienced as well back in 2006. This time she will only need radiation, as the cancer is back. How do I get a pink nose?

Hi Sue, I’m glad you feel well enough to post your blog. Lots of people are reading and learning from it. Good for you! And thanks for sharing. Gayda

Sue,

I’m glad to see that your sense of humor is still in tact. I hope having your kids with you this weekend will lift your spirits, I’m sure they will because you have some pretty great kids! Hang in there and keep trying till you get the right meds!

Hi my dear friend, let me just say that you are quite amazing and please hug your kiddos for me and call if there is anything I can help you with and I promise I will try to deliver. Love you! Diane

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 136,808 hits
