Pinky Pie

The Cowardly Lion & Me

Posted on: September 23, 2009

I couldn't risk this photo from years back with a cutout of the original Dr. Adolf Gundersen.

I couldn't resist this photo from years back with a cutout of the original Dr. Adolf Gundersen, who expected courage from his patients.

Not sure this is flattering to any of us, but here we are as characters in the Wizard of Oz

Not sure this is flattering to any of us, but here we are as characters in the Wizard of Oz
The Cowardly Lion statuette and the medal from my costume

The Cowardly Lion statuette and the medal from my costume

Years ago when I was writing my first history book I interviewed a man who as a boy had been operated on by the original Dr. Gundersen, founder of Gundersen Clinic in La Crosse.

Charles was a scared 6-year-old boy, but the venerable Dr. Adolf Gundersen was a man who took charge of his operating room.

“Courage boy,” he said as he slapped the ether mask on the boy.

And that was that. You could say the boy had courage – administered by the surgeon who had built his reputation in the early 20th century on successful appendectomies at a time when they were very dangerous.

I write this because many cancer patients, including myself, are accused of being “courageous.” I beg to differ.

With apologies to Janis Joplin who made famous the song, Me and Bobby McGee, it’s NOT “Freedom’s just another word for nothin’ left to lose.” Instead, it should be “Courage’s just another word for everything left to lose.”

We do what we do because we have no choice. Or, we have choices but none are very good.

Of course, it’s the unknown that is most scary. Franklin Roosevelt may have said, we have “nothing to fear but fear itself.” But for me, I have nothing to fear but chemotherapy itself.

For me, the scariest part of treatment is not losing my breasts but chemo, which I begin today. It’s not the hair loss, although I suspect it is going to be more traumatic that I’m letting myself admit.

What I worry about is nausea and throwing up and just feeling downright crummy.  I can joke through many things, but not nausea.

But they tell me they give good drugs; really good drugs (prescription). Still, there must be a reason for the bad rap that chemotherapy gets.

And, I will have eight intensive chemo sessions, two weeks apart. I need and want to keep working and walking, not to mention continuing this blog and maintaining my sense of humor. Am I expecting too much of myself? Maybe. Probably.  Hopefully, not.

Thinking about this whole courage thing I remembered that a couple years ago a bunch of us dressed up as the characters from the Wizard of Oz at the La Crosse Symphony. And of all things, I was the Cowardly Lion.

After the Wizard was debunked and admitted he is not a “very bad man,” but a “very bad wizard,” Dorothy and her friends still want what they came for, including courage for the Cowardly Lion, a heart for the Tin Man, a brain for the Scarecrow, and a return to home for Dorothy.

The wizard tells the lion that, “You are under the unfortunate delusion that simply because you run away from danger, you have no courage.  You’re confusing courage with wisdom.  Back where I come from, we have men who are called heroes.  Once a year, they take their fortitude out of mothballs and parade it down the main street of the city.  And they have no more courage than you have.  But! They have one thing that you haven’t got! A medal!”

I think I paid a few bucks extra to get a medal with my costume, something I remembered whe I was talking about courage with my friend, Jill. I realized courage would be a good topic for the blog, especially on the day that I begin chemo.

Then over the weekend, another friend, Colleen, brought me this statuette of the Cowardly Lion, on which she added this message: “Read what my medal says: Courage. Ain’t it the truth? Ain’t it the truth?”

Colleen thought it could be something to take with me to chemo. It is and the coincidence was amazing.

So what I’m trying to say is that it’s not that folks like me with cancer are any more courageous than anyone else.  We’re just doing what we have to do to survive.

Please.

(P.S.: and this is a terrible segue, but happy birthday, Maggie. She noted my starting chemo on her birthday is the first step to ensure I’ll be around for many more birthdays of hers. Beautiful thought. Love … )

11 Responses to "The Cowardly Lion & Me"

i remember this fairytale. Frankly speaking, i like the book much more than the movie.

Dear Lord, please take care of this woman going through cancer; give her wisdom, comfort and peace. Above all, surround her with loved ones and friends. In the name of Jesus Christ we praise, Amen..

May God keep you in the palm of your hand. Great blog!

One thing is for sure: You sharing your fears of your difficult journey ahead for all to see IS courageous. I can only imagine that fellow patients or ex-patients who read this will be encouraged by your vocalness on the matter. Know that there will be hundreds of people who read this that will sitting in that room with you today when your treatment begins!!!

I wish you the courage to stay strong and use your mind to see the light at the end of the tunnel when things are at their worst.

I’m sending positive thoughts to you today!!! Oh, and Happy Birthday Maggie and Michael.

People always have a choice in no matter what situation life places them and you are courageous because you have chosen to face this challenge in your life with humor. You could have chosen to pity yourself. You could have chosen to lock yourself in your house. You could have done a lot of different things and you did not. You are courageous because you are honest. You are courageous because you have not hidden in your fear but brought it to the light and shared it with others. You are courageous and you are strong. This, my friend, is an incredible combination. You may keep your modesty, it’s lovely, but your friends can sit by your side and cherish your brave heart. I am wrapping you in pink Snugglie hugs.

Stay strong Lion

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings. You are still a very courageous woman. I will be praying that all goes well with you.

As you can see by all of the responses to your post, Sue, you do have courage. That does not mean that is not OK to be afraid…we all are afraid at times. For many, the unknown is the greatest fear.
But you have chosen a path you will take, even before you know what the consequences of your chemo will be. You say, “I need and want to keep working and walking not to mention continuing this blog and maintaining my sense of humor.” I know you will do this…even if it is not in the same way as before. Because if you need us to help you do this, we are just a call away… and yes, it takes courage to ask for support.

I’m also sending birthday wishes to Maggie and Michael!

[…] About Pinky Pie The Cowardly Lion & Me […]

Legendary post, I enjoy this spectacular site,I found you along freshly pressed!

Please do check my personal fascinating training blog.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 136,238 hits
