Pinky Pie

Announcing the Susan T. Hessel Breast Cancer Challenge

Posted on: August 23, 2009

Breast reconstruction surgery in Wisconsin

Breast reconstruction surgery in Wisconsin

You might ask why I need a breast cancer challenge? Isn’t breast cancer a challenge in itself? You are right, it is challenging.

But for some reason ever since I have started writing this blog I have been including cultural icons in my blog entries, starting with Tevye from Fiddler on the Roof . I continued on with references to Chuck Connors from the TV show, “Branded.” Then there was Clint Eastwood, Imelda Marcos, clowns, Nathan Detroit, turnips and so on.

I have no idea who or what will pop into my head next as I write about this journey but I thought it would be fun to have readers – assuming there are some – suggest cultural icons that I should try and include in a blog entry. It could be a person, a thing or whatever comes to your mind. The more absurd or out of context the better as I’m wondering if I can create a story related to whomever or whatever is suggested to illustrate how I’m doing with my cancer treatment.

Now, I have been accused of playing words in Scrabble without knowing their meanings. In fact, friends have told me to use the word in a sentence and I say something like, “Qoph is a Q word without a U that I play in Scrabble.” For the record, a quoph is s the nineteenth letter in Semitic alphabets, including Hebrew and Arabic.

For this challenge, it will not be sufficient to just throw it into a sentence; I’ll have to make it work within in the cancer context. The management (me) does reserve the right to make any rules I wish. It’s my blog.

Of course, I’ll continue to throw icons and other images into entries as they come into my head and make sense (or not), but do challenge me a bit – make my brain stretch. Stump me and make me make it work.

The prize is laughter. After all, cancer is too serious not to laugh. A lot.

Also, thanks to all who are reading my blog, sharing their thoughts and providing support. Please share the blog with anyone who might be interested.

6 Responses to "Announcing the Susan T. Hessel Breast Cancer Challenge"

Captain Kangaroo!!!

Sue,

Here’s hopig your recovery is going well.

Challenge person: Jamaican sprinter extraordinaire Usain Bolt.

Steve Jobs
Kevin Bacon
Obama!

Twiggy
Bridget Bardot
Jo from Little Women
Irma La Douce
Fanny Brice
The Road Runner

Great Blog…keep writing

Sue,

You have inspired me, once again! Thank you for thinking of others with your words, as you always do. Go for it!

Sue:

What are you up to now? How else does one connect with you? Where have you been, gone, done, conquered?

Mark T.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

August 2009
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,255 hits
