Pinky Pie

Turnips and breast cancer?

Posted on: August 20, 2009

Some may confuse these turnips with my arms.

Some may confuse these turnips with my arms.

Today’s entry is about turnips but I’m certainly hoping that no one from the Department of Agriculture or farmers growing turnips get their noses (of any color) out of joint. I am NOT suggesting that you get cancer from turnips. Do not sue me.

So why am I writing about turnips? I’ve been thinking about turnips ever since I was in the pre-surgical area before my surgery and they put these “Limb Alert” bracelets on my wrists. I really laughed because they were, after all, pink. This theme thing was clearly taking hold.

Limb Alert sounds like a product that demands a late night infomercial, but the reality was that after a mastectomy they can’t take blood, do blood pressure readings or even have IVs in my arms. It’s a way to prevent lymphoedema, which is a build of fluids in my arms because of the loss of lymph nodes.

Of course, my mind went immediately to the old cliche, “You can’t get blood from a turnip.” Thus, in my mind, turnips represented my new arms. I posted a photo of turnips on Facebook and asked folks why they thought it was there.

Today I required a blood draw, which had to come from my foot. Thankfully, not much was needed because my foot was acting turniplike in the sense they couldn’t get much blood from it.

Afterwards they  put a Bugs Bunny bandage on my foot. Life is good.

Now for all of you who want to know the origin of “You can’t get blood from a turnip,” there are some who suggest it relates to some sibling rivalry between Cain and Abel in the Old Testament and we know how that turned out.

Elsewhere, I read this meaning, “A turnip cannot be coaxed, squeezed, or cajoled into producing blood. All efforts at obtaining blood from this vegetable will be futile.”

I’m not sure how well I’ll be able to write this blog with turnip arms, but at least today my sense of humor is firmly intact and my nose is pink.

P.S. walked 2.7 miles today.

2 Responses to "Turnips and breast cancer?"

you GO girl!!! 2.7 miles? I tried that…once…

fuck the turnip arms…do a podcast! I have one, and I interview people on the phone…plus (also), my yiddishe tongue could use a trot…on de talkink ting, I kin pretty good be a miler…not too shabby…

LOVE 2 U

I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

August 2009
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 135,839 hits
