Pinky Pie

Pinky Pie further explained

Posted on: August 10, 2009

I posted the following on Facebook two days after my diagnosis:

Little Pinky Pie No More I’m now Big Pinky Pie

(I posted this on Facebook on August 3)

Share

Monday, August 3, 2009 at 12:19pm | Edit Note | Delete

I have always had a love-hate relationship with the color pink. My mother freely admitted with a laugh that she had “over-pinked” me as a little girl. My room was pink, I was dressed in pink and her kitchen was pink. And she called me her “little Pinky Pie.” That was in the days when I was also known as her little Susie.

I reached a pink breaking point where I had it up to here with pink and I proclaimed I would never wear it again. Although at the time I didn’t think I’d have children, I also proclaimed I would never dress any daughter I had in pink. Well of course I did when my daughter Maggie was born. Her room was not pink, however.

And in recent years I must admit that I even began wearing pink. Every time I wore pink I enjoyed it as a bit of a tribute to Mom who so loved the color.

I even wore a pink mother of the bride dress in May 2008 when Maggie married. And, incidentally of her own free will, she chose a gorgeous wedding dress that was pearl color. It had just a very hint of pink. It was not pink however.

Why in the world am I telling you this? Two days ago pink took on that whole new meaning when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Yup, I’ve joined the ranks of Big Pinky Pies, millions strong, unfortunately. The strong is not the unfortunate part, I hope, but the fact that there are millions.

As I was going through the process of being diagnosed, I also started making jokes. They are my way to relieve anxiety and get control over what is uncontrollable. I’ll share some of these thoughts as time goes by and hope I can keep making lots of them.

I’m also searching for all things pink, particularly the absurd. I woke up this morning thinking about the many products that now have pink labels indicating that a portion of proceeds will go to fight breast cancer. Thanks for that.

In a can of pink Campbell’s Chicken Soup, I’m sure the portion would be the chicken as it’s the most spare in the can. However, Campbell soup was what my pink loving mother fed me as a little girl so I do have a fondness for it at least in concept, although my taste buds have matured some since then even if the rest of me has not.

I have this idea of humor being so powerful that I want everyone I know to make jokes with me. I want them to wear those rubber clown noses when they visit me – or send me pictures wearing rubber noses. But they can’t be just any rubber clown noses. We need to find pink rubber noses or find a way to make red ones pink. Photoshop is a possibility for the photos.

Also, would everyone be on a search for products that you find in pink? You don’t have to send them to me or even buy them. I’m just looking for amusement. Again, I’m looking for the absurd, or at least stuff that will make me laugh. I think there’s a pink steno pad, which folks used to use when taking shorthand, a skill I actually have.

A friend said to me yesterday that I will use the story and experience to help others. Well, it is a tad early to know if anything I would do or write is going to help anyone, but I appreciate the sentiment. Everything is a story.

If you’ll do your best to try and make me laugh, I’ll do my best to make you laugh.

2 Responses to "Pinky Pie further explained"

good luck in your quest — unfortunately, we men aren’t allowed to have anything pink

Actually, my son in law says he will wear pink in honor of this occasion. 😉 I’ll wait to see.

Thanks for your good wishes.

Leave a Reply

Posts by month

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other followers

August 2009
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 136,808 hits
